An official website of the United States government

May 10, 2023

The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to keep America safe.  This requires the dedication of more than 240,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector.

Agencies within DHS include:

  • U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)
    ICE promotes homeland security and public safety through the criminal and civil enforcement of federal laws governing the U.S. border.   Homeland Security Investigations (HSI) directorate is a critical asset in the ICE  mission and it is  responsible for investigating and enforcing  a wide range of domestic and international activities arising from the illegal movement of people and goods into, within and our of the United States.
  • U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP)
    CBP is responsible of securing and facilitating trade and travel while enforcing hundreds of United States regulations, including customs and immigration laws.
  • U.S. Secret Service (USSS) Safeguards the nation’s financial infrastructure and payment systems to preserve the integrity of the economy, and protects national leaders, visiting heads of state and government, designated sites, and National Special Security Events.